Success

I’ve been giving success a lot of thought recently, well its one of those things that I ponder quite regularly to be honest. So how am I meant to judge success? What is success for me? Am I where I expected to be in my life in my early 30s? Am I successful?

Well I’m sure by many conventional benchmarks I am reasonably successful: I have a handful of qualifications; I have a good job that I love; I earn a good salary; I have a mortgage on a house that is more than adequate for my needs; I am a daughter, granddaughter, sister and auntie; I am healthy with only a handful of addictions; I contribute to society; I have great friends and enough people in my life to make me feel loved and appreciated for who I am.

Yet somehow I still keep striving. I always want more, I need to learn more, to understand more, to analyse further, to work that bit harder, to keep pushing myself, to achieve more. Am sure most people will think that’s great, and most of the time I’d agree but right now I’m wishing I was a little bit more successful at recognising the success I have and accepting life as it is!

Training for success by DoubleM2

Parting words of wisdom from Ralph Waldo Emerson – I can’t argue with them…

To laugh often and much;
to win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children;
to earn the appreciation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends;
to appreciate beauty, to find the best in others;
to leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch or a redeemed social condition;
to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived.
This is to have succeeded.

One thought on “Success

  1. Maybe it was the eighties and yuppies and Thatcher and ‘greed is good’ that put me off, but I never actually wanted to be successful, not if success means climbing the greasy pole of management, earning more money, and collecting the biggest pile of toys. The good news is that my fear of success meant I had little fear of failure, and I’m always trying to do things that are too difficult for me. Sometimes, it works. You’re right that you have a lot in your life, and more than that, you *are* a lot, and you seem to have a wonderful effect on the people around you.

Leave a Reply

