Becoming a morning person

Photo by Alan Cleaver

Last month I was taken by a tweet from @redstarvip (Ruben) that linked to his latest blog post – How to become a morning person.

Wow, I had to take a look. I know nothing about Ruben bar what I’ve picked up from his twitter stream, I wasn’t sure what credentials he had to offer advice on such matters, but being that I’m so categorically bad at tackling mornings I thought it was worth a look.

What I found was simple but struck a cord – it was essentially picking up on another challenge I’ve had recently about my constant lateness (or usually near lateness) being down to my bad attitude problem and nothing much more! (That deserves a post in its own right at a later date).

Take a look at Ruben’s post for his advice; there are two bits that stood out for me – decide that you’re going to get up and then do what you planned. I went to bed late last night, and couldn’t sleep when I got there, but am delighted to report that I made a plan before falling asleep and more importantly I got up when my alarm went off this morning and managed to do as I planned (dragging my half comatose self out for a short run)….the challenge now is to keep that record up for the rest of this week.

If anyone has any advice for making morning’s easier I’d love to hear it. Thanks.

4 thoughts on “Becoming a morning person

  1. Remember you’re not alone.

    If I get up early to do some work, I often make sure my Tweetdeck is the first thing I switch on. A few of my friends find themselves struggling with early mornings (especially in the mornings), but the fellowship of the Twitter ‘pre-seven club’ makes it seem less of a struggle.

    That and a large mug of good coffee.

  2. You know, that’s a method of changing behaviour we look at in health psychology. It’s called ‘implementation intentions’, and if you say where and when you will do a behaviour, you are way more likely to do it than if you just decide to do it. If you build in environmental cues it works even better. Knowing how interested in evidence-based interventions you are, have a look at literature on this by Gollwitzer.

  3. Thanks both, love both comments. Clive I think I might need to adapt my twitter stream – which is full of late night ppl, but rarely any interaction at early o’clock (cause and effect relationship there maybe)…good food for thought, thanks. Rhiannon you’ve touched on something else that I’ve got brewing about visualisation…am becoming increasingly convinced about the power of that. Will have a quick scan for Gollwitzer, thanks for the heads up, was racking my rusty undergrad memories for references the other day 🙂

    Thanks for bothering to comment too – made my morning 🙂

  4. As soon as the alarm goes off, put on some music, get up and take a look out of the window. It’s much more beautiful out there in the morning when there’s no one else around to mess up the place…….so get dressed and go outside!

Leave a Reply

