The Gate House, Bath

On Friday myself and two mates spent the night in Bath, well actually just outside Bath in The Gate House. I’d decided to take my best mate away for her birthday and the first available weekend was this weekend – which was also my birthday weekend, so from that point of view it worked out well.

The original plan had been to stay in a Travelodge in Bath centre and go to Jamie’s Italian. Except there were two problems with this plan – firstly I kept hearing really mixed reviews about Jamie’s and the thing that put me off the most was that you couldn’t book so it was hit and miss/good chance you’d have to cue for an hour, urgggh no thanks; the second problem with the plan was that the Travelodge said it had availability until you hit book and then there was none – why do hotels do that?

So in true Georgie fashion I started scouring the interweb to see what I could find and laterooms came up with this gem. The Gate House is about a ten minute drive from Bath on the main road in from the M4 (the A46). It was fantastic. It has two groundfloor double bedrooms, one is en-suite, and a double sofa bed upstairs in the lounge – which was spacious and airy, so when it says it sleeps six it really *would* sleep six comfortably, unusual in self-catering type descriptions in my experience. I didn’t take loads of photos but it really was like the pictures on their website – again something that is always a bit risky, whether to trust the photos present a true likeness!

We only stayed one night but I felt compelled to write about it on here – something I don’t think I’ve ever done before, despite spending most my life in random hotels for work. So what was so impressive?

  • The friendliness and communication – Jan, who runs it, was really efficient and uber helpful and she replied to emails promptly which is always a good thing in my book – very ironic given my own appalling performance in that regard!
  • The location. It’s really easily accessible from the M4 and easy to find, just look out for the fresh eggs sign! The downside of it’s great location is that it is on a main road,  so there is a little traffic noise if the windows are open, but its location make putting up with a little background noise well worth it
  • The fact that we were able to stay for only one night and didn’t have to leave before 11am the next morning – an absolute bonus, meant that we really did feel relaxed and not like we were running around like headless chickens trying to get all our stuff together at 8am on check out day. I’m sure under normal circumstances they’d prefer you to stay longer, and we’d have loved to but other commitments didn’t allow, but I guess it’s still early season – I’m sure it’ll probably be week long bookings in high season but hopefully a weekend out of season will still be an option
  • The parking at The Gate House – we had two cars and there was plenty of space and we were even able to leave one car there the next day when we went into Bath
  • The free central parking in Bath city centre – we were able to park on the day we checked out, even though we hadn’t thought to ask in advance, and we weren’t officially staying at that point
  • The fantastically equipped kitchen – I hate holiday lets where you have nothing but didn’t know what to expect so had brought a tea towel, kitchen roll, pizza cutter, bottle opener but none of it was needed. We even had a jug of milk left in the fridge for us – a nice touch and given the wine consumption it meant we didn’t need to open the milk we’d brought with us 😉
  • The attention to detail – we had (naturally) brought our own wine with us but I absolutely loved this, such a nice touch (pls excuse the slightly blurry phone photo)

So there you have it. I highly recommend The Gate House to you – I’ll definitely be back;  in fact we’ve already started trying to figure out a reason to do so. If you know of anyone looking for somewhere to stay in or around Bath then please do point them in Jan’s direction – I’m sure they wont be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

