That call in the middle of the night…

(cc) Photo by Jim Linwood on flickr

Last night, at 3.37am I received a phonecall. I was fast asleep and I woke up and first off thought I was dreaming, then thought it was an alarm, then a phone…and eventually realised it was my phone. I stumbled out of bed and by the time I got to it, it had stopped ringing, I checked who had rung and it was a mobile number. Not one I recognised. I searched my contacts and the number didn’t match, I searched my work phone and it didn’t match there either.

I went back to bed and five minutes later the phone rang again. So I googled the number (Google how I love you) and found it was a spam number – either used to deliver texts to landlines and/or to spam so you call the number back and it charges you a fortune. Either way, I turned the ringer off on my landline and went back to bed.

Where I lay thinking….about when the next middle of the night phonecall will come. A few years ago when my Dad, Mum and both grandparents were sick I had a number of calls in the early hours to say people had been taken ill, were up at A&E, needed support. I go to bed every night semi-aware that a call might come. Last night the adrenalin was pumping, the headache descended, the panic and then the calm when I realised it was a false alert. I know one of these days that call will be real, luckily not just yet.

Leave a Reply

