10,000 views #cancer #servicedesign #networks #hope

I’ve been blogging since March 2010 and today I passed 10,000 views of my blog. I can’t quite believe it, even if you completely over-estimate spam bots and decide at least half of those visits didn’t result in a post being read, that’s still at least 5000 that did. Now I know some of you will be sat here reading this, feeling all smug as you regularly get lots of hits to your blog, I’m sure there are some of you who get that many in a week…. but I like to focus on quality as much as quantity 😉

Given my love of stats I thought I’d share some with you in honour of my 10,000 view.

Top 10 posts

Home page – does what it says on the tin, front page

What is service design? – another fairly obvious title, if I say so myself! My attempt to define Service Design – awesome 18 comments too, great discussion

The Price of Life #23weekbabies – talks about the cost of care of babies born at 23 weeks – another busy post for comments, although was first where I really struggled to decide whether to post comments or not – in the end I decided it wasn’t for me to vet them

About – another obvious one, little mini biography of yours truly

10 key factors for successful networks – post highlighting research into networks and ten success factors

ServDes: value, trust, transparency, ethics and shared expertise – my reflections on the Nordic Conference on Service Design and Service Innovation in Linköping

Cancer – the price of hope – first of the top ten talking about my Dad’s battle with cholangiocarcinoma and the value of hope

End-of life care – post accompanying Dispatches on end of life care provision

Service recovery Virgin Media style – my experience with Virgin Media

Cancer – the cost of no cure – cancer treatments, cost effectiveness and rationing

Top five referrers: Twitter, BBC, Facebook, WimRampen’s blog, WordPress Tags

Top five search terms:

impossible is nothing 52
how to build a wendy house 26
successful networks 19
service recovery process 17
george blogs 15

Comments: I had no idea when I started blogging whether anyone would engage with what I had to say and I had a bit of a fear that no-one would ever comment – leaving me feeling that I was shouting in a void. To date I have 356 comments from real people and numerous deleted from spam bots.

I think over the past year or so I’ve become less bothered by whether people comment and more interested in whether what I write resonates with people. Interestingly a lot of what I blog about is Cancer and my Dad’s experience of living with it, so not exactly a cheery subject, but I’m always amazed at how much people are interested and supportive. I’m also surprised (and pleased) about the number of people who find my blog when looking for cancer information. I always wanted to present a more balanced experience, or at least not *just* a negative experience of living with cancer. I’m really pleased if anything I offer can help anyone with their own experience, this comment sums it up really:

My mother was admitted to the hospital one week ago and after tests they say she has bile duct cancer. They sent her home with a tube for drainage of the bile from the liver and set an appointment to discuss the treatment on May 11th. They said the cancer had spread to the liver and lungs. Thanks for sharing your experiences as it is helpful in dealing with this.

So here’s to the next 10,000 and thank you all for your support and interest. Oh, and in case anyone was wondering, just do it – start a blog, you’ll not look back!

2 thoughts on “10,000 views #cancer #servicedesign #networks #hope

  1. Well done you! 10,000 (or as you said, even half) is quite an achievement. I only recently started reading blogs and I often wish I had found this little world through the long years when dad was terminally ill – such a strange time and it would have helped to know other people were struggling to find happiness in the same sometimes gloomy place…. so well done for sharing with others.

  2. Congratulations on the views. I love reading even though I don’t comment as much as I intend to (sometimes because I’m ‘on the move’ and sometimes because I can’t think of anything to say that would add anything!).

Leave a Reply

