Holiday reading recommendations for Kindle please

In five more sleeps I’m heading off on holiday, I’m very excited and very relieved that no-one has got ill yet. You can see a piccie from my destination here on an earlier blog post. There’s not a lot there, except sand, sea and sun. I didn’t want to take my work iPad with me (didn’t seem appropriate) and there is a strict wait limit on the Sea Plane so I can’t take a case full of books, so I splashed out and bought a Kindle.

So I need your help, I’ve cashed my Nectar Points in for Amazon vouchers and would like to download some reading before I go away. I’d really appreciate any recommendations, any good books, fiction or non-fiction, don’t mind. Please add a comment and let me know the name of the book and maybe one line about why I should read it and/or what it is about.

Thanks in advance.

Recommendations received via twitter as follows:

Emerald Street – Books you must read overview document.

If on a winter’s night a traveller by Italo Calvino

1984 by George Orwell

Fry Chronicles by Stephen Fry

Hare with Amber Eyes by Edmund de Waal

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot

The Shift by Lynda Gratton

Drive by Dan Pink

Program or be Programmed by Douglas Rushkoff

The Shadow of the Sun by Ryszard Kapuscinski

The Best of Everything by Rona Jaffe

 

6 thoughts on “Holiday reading recommendations for Kindle please

  1. The History of Love by Nicole Krauss. Beautifully crafted, feelgood but with edge and bite. And my girlfriend recommended it me, and she lives in South Devon. A win. 🙂

  2. Is the history of love available on Kindle?
    George, you know that the problem is that you can’t pass me on all these great book when I go on holiday and you are done with them:)

  3. I post about free books on my blog, so I could suggest this if you like mysteries & Agatha Christie. The first Miss Marple mystery book she wrote is currently free on Amazon (“The Murder at the Vicarage”)… plus there’s tons more free books on Amazon (so you can check them out via samples and just grab whatever interests you).

Leave a Reply

