The ‘true’ North East

Growing up in the Westcountry my geographical knowledge is probably at best described as ropey! I never really felt like I had to learn where anything was (with the exception of the Kingdoms of Devonshire and Cornwall) because everything was ‘up north’. Well last weekend I ventured to the proper North East and spent the weekend exploring the delights of the Cairngorms, the Balmoral Estate, the Highlands and Stonehaven which has to be one of the jewels of Aberdeenshire.It was a great weekend, there was a tiny flurry of snow, proper cold wind, winter sun and bright blue skies. I thought I’d share a few of my fave pics:

Sheep in the snow at Mar Lodge

Loch Muick with the mist coming in

Midday sun at St Cyrus Beach

Dunnottar Castle

Stonehaven War Memorial

Leave a Reply

