For your tomorrow we gave our today

Tomorrow is my Grandad’s funeral. It’s being held in the church where he sang as a choir boy, where he was baptised, where he met my Gran…it seems a fitting place. Today I went to see him in the funeral home, it’s only the second time I’ve seen a body in a coffin. I wasn’t sure whether I wanted to go but it felt like a good step towards closure. I’m really glad I went, he looked very peaceful and strangely (given he died ten days ago) more like his self than he did when I saw him in hospital the day he died.

I’ll share his eulogy once tomorrow is over. I’d like the world to know a little more about my fantastic Grandad. The local paper are apparently compiling an article about him too, so that should be interesting. For now it’s going to be an early night for me and a bit more time reflecting on the meaning of life. There has been a lot of that lately, and I suspect it will continue. There is definitely something about end of life that forces you to take a moment and consider the everyday.

When you go home tell them of us and say, for your tomorrow we gave our today – Kohima Epitaph

2 thoughts on “For your tomorrow we gave our today

Leave a Reply

