Why I’ve adopted a craftivist for 2017

A couple weeks ago I saw this on Instagram

See link in profile for more info eek 😬💚✂️

A post shared by Craftivist Collective (@craftivists) on

My immediate reaction was wow, that’s brave, followed by there’s no way I can afford that, hope others can.

I went about my day/life but Sarah’s request stuck with me. I spent quite some time musing it since.

There are loads of reasons why £10 a month seems a lot. My own income is very uncertain and somewhat erratic. I already give to charity (although I’m increasingly wondering why). Anyhow, I’ll try to stick on topic, I gave myself a talking to and realised we were talking about me (and hopefully 159 others) each giving Sarah £2.50 a week, which equates to the Living Wage for London £19,200 next year. It’s hardly a get rich quick scheme, but what it will allow is for Sarah to carry on with the Craftivist Collective, engaging in the art of gentle protest.

There is so much wrong with the world at the moment. I know I’m not the only one exhausted from raging at it. There have been so many poor decisions and awful behaviours on show this year. It hasn’t been easy to stay positive, or sane for that matter.

Sarah, and her needle, give me hope.

Her craftivism has inspired me to stitch (which in itself is very cathartic, there’s something quite relaxing about gently stabbing canvas with a needle and making something) an activity that I’ve not done since I was a child. It allows me to escape from how hard and miserable and demoralising the world is, and spend time thinking of a brighter alternative and hopefully creating a tiny provocation or thought or cheer to bring to someone else’s day. Last year I wrote about Stitches of Hope.

One of my little highlights this year was receiving this tweet from Maddy on twitter in July, about a mini banner I’d left in Birmingham two months earlier. One of her friends had spotted it and shared a picture on facebook and Maddy was able to tell her all about JusticeforLB. I love that.

I love that it’s possible to make something and leave it out in all sorts of weather for a couple months, and for people to then connect around it. I’d never have started stitching if it wasn’t for Sarah sewing the seed, and showing the way.

So £2.50 a week, directly into the pocket of an activist who is inspiring me, and many others, who is sewing seeds of hope, in an honest and humble way. That seems like a good investment.

If you’d like to support Sarah too you can read more about how to here (it’s as simple as setting up a Standing Order or a paypal donation). I hope that this direct relationship between artists/activists and funders is a model we’ll see a lot more of in the future. For now it feels good to adopt a tiny bit of optimism and hope for a brighter future.

Leave a Reply

