Attitude’s a power stronger than death

If anyone had told me a year ago that I’d sit here awaiting the arrival of 2012 with my Dad, Grandad and Gran all still living I’d never have believed them. I never, ever would have thought 2011 would end like this, and I mean that in the most positive way. Even though I suspect 2012 will be full of sorrow (because let’s face it, you can’t keep beating terminal illness forever), it will be all the better for the memory bank full of moments from 2011.

I’ve made a real effort to try and take more photos of my family this year, particularly of my Dad, and my absolute new favourite is this one of my Mum and Dad on Christmas Day.

Dad has the look in his eye which is part adoration/part glint of trouble…I can’t remember what he’d just said but I suspect he was pushing his luck in some way! As 2011 draws to a close, I am thankful for the extra time it provided us, and grateful beyond words for those people who have supported my Dad, our family or myself. There are many people, the NHS professionals, his GP, consultant, nurses, anyone who has had to try and take blood from my Dad (who has nightmare veins), the Social Worker(s…he’s on his third) from the local hospice, our many family and friends, anyone who has given blood this year, and above all else my fantastic parents themselves.

To anyone who is facing life with themselves or a family member with #cancer, or any other terminal illness, it doesn’t have to all be sorrowful or difficult, in fact in a weird way I’ve found to be a blessing, to know to pay attention and appreciate what you have. In the words of The Boss, Attitude’s a power stronger than death. Here’s to a happy and healthy 2012 for you all.

One thought on “Attitude’s a power stronger than death

  1. Good for you having the strength of character to see positive and give thanks even in tough times. I think it is true that your attitude can give you a kind of power even in times when you have so little control..

Leave a Reply

